Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Your home for Royals recap,, rants, news, and fantastic stories about our beloved Boys in Blue.

20 Sep

That's so Royals

Published by Sarah Davis

"Hit the snooze! Hit the snooze!" Apparently I wasn't the only one that said that today.

Here's your recap for the day: The Royals lost 10-1 in the first game of the most important series in almost thirty years.

I now present to you an original rant.

I'd like to point out a few key words in said rant: Incompetence, accountability, and stupidity.

Here is the definition for the word incompetence: Inability to do something successfully; ineptitude. In 2006, Dayton Moore took to the presses and said that he would have a championship in Kansas City in ten years. It is now year eight, and at the rate the Royals are going, they will have made the playoffs exactly zero times, and hope to go all the way with having no playoff experience whatsoever. This is the closest they've ever been, and they are completely choking it away.

If Kansas City doesn't make the playoffs, then what? I imagine Dayton Moore will probably say something like, "We led the division for a while, so in a small way, I feel like we won the World Series." No, Dayton. In a big way, we missed the entire playoffs because of the lack of talent that you put on this roster. I guess you don't have an excuse for that one, do you? Do any of you have excuses? You know what? I don't care. I don't want excuses. I want somebody to own up and say, "This is on us. We messed up, and it cost us." I don't want this stuff about, "Well, in a small way....." No, it's unacceptable, and quite honestly, it's dreadful to listen to every single day.

The final word I would use to describe the Royals is "stupidity." There is plenty of it to go around, too. For example: Players that continually swing at ball four, but instead make an out, that's very stupid. It isn't just one player in particular. It's all of them, with the exception of Nori Aoki. The stupidity of the Front office has rubbed off on the team, and now we're paying the price for it. If there's one thing I can't stand, it's stupid baseball. Here lately, that's what I've been seeing.

I haven't given up on this team.... Not yet, anyway. They can need to win the next two in Detroit to have a shot at the division. With Max Scherzer going tomorrow, and Jeremy Guthrie for the Royals on Sunday, it's likely that they'll get swept. Good grief. This is so Royals. They are choking away this season all in the final two weeks, but it's all about how they respond tomorrow. I'm willing to bet that it will be a repeat of tonight's game, just at an earlier point in the day.

That's so Royals
Comment on this post

About this blog

Your home for Royals recap,, rants, news, and fantastic stories about our beloved Boys in Blue.