Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Your home for Royals recap,, rants, news, and fantastic stories about our beloved Boys in Blue.

10 Jul

Detroit at Kansas City: Series Preview

Published by Sarah Davis

****Every good Samaritan in the Kansas City metro area is anxiously awaiting the news on Alex Gordon's wrist. If indeed the all star left fielder does need a DL stint, I will update accordingly. Let's pray that I will not have to update. *****

The Detroit Tigers will cruise into town for the last series of the first half. Best scenario is that Kansas City will finish the first half 0.5 games back. Worst scenario is that they finish 8.5 games back.

Game 1:

Jeremy Guthrie (5-7 4.10 ERA) vs. Drew Smyly (4-8 3.89 ERA)

Jeremy Guthrie is coming off a rough start against Cleveland last Saturday. Guthrie gave up six earned runs in 4.0 innings, and allowed 11 hits. Guthrie now has the highest ERA on the starting staff this year.

Drew Smyly is also coming off of a less than decent start against the Rays last Friday. Smyly yielded five earned runs in 5.1 innings.

Both starters are coming off bad outings, but I would give a slight advantage to the Tigers due to the lack of run support that Jeremy Guthrie always receives.

Game 2:

Danny Duffy (5-8, 2.86 ERA) vs. Anibal Sancez (5-3, 3.18)

Danny Duffy is coming off of a shaky start. On Sunday against Cleveland, he gave up four earned runs in 6.0 innings pitched. Danny Duffy has been lights out for the first half of this season, and will look to continue his success against the Tigers.

Anibal Sanchez is coming off of an awful start against Tampa Bay. Sanchez gave up seven earned runs in 5.2 innings.

The last time I predicted a no-hitter, I was wrong. I'll be right this time. Danny Duffy will throw a no-hitter, missing a perfect game by a walk.

Game 3:

James Shields (9-4, 3.71 ERA) vs. Rick Porcello 11-5, 3.53 ERA)

James Shields is coming off of a rock-solid scoreless start against his former Rays, and I'm sure Kansas City welcomed the old James Shields back with open arms.

Rick Porcello was in the final vote for the All Star Game this year. I personally didn't vote for him, but he has been solid for the Tigers so far this year.

Although Shields dominated his last start, I would keep the thought in the back of my mind that he could fall to pieces again.

Game 4:

TBD vs. Justin Verlander (8-7, 4.84 ERA)

I say that the starter is TBD, but it will most likely be Bruce Chen. Bruce Chen throws a nasty 83 mile per hour fastball that will come at you faster than you spell Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.

Justin Verlander is broken this year. With an ERA of almost five, the Royals will probably bat him around for another seven runs.

We'll lose this game if Bruce Chen pitches. It's not that I don't like Chen, I do. I just think his pitching career has seen better days.

All in all, I think we'll split this series, and gain no ground in the central race. We need at least a split. A series win would be ideal, but as long as we don't lose any ground, I think we will be contenders in the second half.

Detroit at Kansas City: Series Preview
Comment on this post

About this blog

Your home for Royals recap,, rants, news, and fantastic stories about our beloved Boys in Blue.